Rotella 15w-40 oil

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

TOMJ

I know the oil question has been beat to death, BUT.
I am new to Sea Doo maintenance and last fall I changed the oil in my sister's 2006 GTI SE and used the Sea Doo oil.
She had always had the dealer do the maintenance while it was under warrenty.
This weekend I will be changing the oil in her Yamaha F115 outboard. I have done some research and will be using Shell Rotella 15w-40.
It would be nice to be able to use the same oil in both the Yamaha & the Sea Doo.

So, anybody using Shell Rotella 15W-40 in a non-supercharged 'Doo?
How about Rotella T6 5w-40 full synth?
The Sea Doo is located in central GA and it does get hot, it is not ridden in cold weather so cold starts are not an issue.

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
Isn't rotella designed for diesels? I remember my dad using it in his old powerstroke ford.

Isn't rotella designed for diesels? I remember my dad using it in his old powerstroke ford.

Rotella is a heavy duty engine oil, not just for diesel engines.
It has lots of zinc, which is good for the cam and lots of detergent additives.
It is very sheer stable and that's good in the high reving Rotax engine.
I know Rotella is a good oil, I know nothing about the Sea Doo oil except that there are better oils out there that cost half as much and are more redily available.

Just wondering if anyone is using either the T6 5w-40 full synth or the 15w-40 dino oil.
I am an avid motorcycle enthusiest (spelling?) and I know LOTS of folks use Rotella oil in bikes and have for years.

I think I would stick to the weight brp recommends. You are only talking 20 bucks, why go against the recommendations.