Repainting 96 xp

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexdecker2

After looking at all your guys restoration threads, it makes me want to do this to my own ski but I am curious what is all involved? Besides wet sanding, patching if needed and painting im not quite sure what kinda products are needed. Could anyone give me a rundown on what products to use, where to get them, steps involved, all the good stuff.

I have never done painting like this before. In fact i am not sure i would do the painting, i would probably let my wife do it. She did her 4 wheeler and it turned out very nice. All she used was plastidip also, i was very impressed but im sure thats not the same thing to use for this. I plan on doing the top and bottom of the ski. I havent decided on color yet, as this is something that just came to my mind.

Any advice helps. Thanks!

Speaking from my personal experience on my build thread that is currently active. If AT ALL possible do gelcoat. It looks and holds up 100x better

I'd recommend gelcoat, but disregard my message below if you want to paint, that's fairly easy, strip ski, prep, tape off, mix 2 part paint, set the gun up and spray. Boom, you're done. Gelcoat is all in the finishing, sanding, polishing, etc. Much more work, but worth it.