New to PWC's and have a few questions. Ready to play!!!

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

KdogLA

Hey everyone.. I'm new to the PWC family and was looking for a few pointers.. I have owned boats and am a pretty good mechanic so tear down's aren't that big of a deal. :) I bought two Seadoo's yesterday from someone. Legal, ledgit and clear titles on the trailor and both bikes. One is a 1997 GTX. Put the DESS key in gauges come on and when I pull the choke, it starts in less than 3 seconds.. Naturally I didn't let it run just idle for about 15 seconds.. The second one is a 1997 XP. This one is a little bit different. When I put the DESS in place, the VST gauge shoes its trimmed up but no beeps and no start. The previous owner said he thought the MPEM might be damaged.. When I pulled out the MPEM, it appears to have overheated severely. Half of the underside is melted to the point were part of the green circuit board is exposed... What would cause this type of meltdown? I have been looking all over the internet and can't find a whole lot of information on what causes a meltdown, just how expensive they are to fix. :) Any pointers???

I'm looking forward to getting both of these bikes in the water and having some fun down here.. Thanks for any help you can offer...

now sure what would melt it, but its obviously bad, and i'm pretty confident that there is no "fix" only replace.

contact minnetonka http://westsidepowersports.com/ about a replacement mpem, then while you wait, research possible causes for the melting.. I've actually never seen a melted one, can you post a pic ?

oh.. and Hi... welcome to the forum

Thanks for the link. Ill be checking them out. I took some good pictures of it. I now need to figure out how to post them. Haha

If anything, the VTS could be the culprit.