Looking to buy a Sea Doo

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

jmcgill

I've got two units I'm looking at, a 1991 GT and a 1994 SP580.

The 1991 GT is in complete running condition and has a newish trailer along with it. The owner says the hull has some scratches and blemishes but no weak spots or holes.

The 1994 is listed for the same price (both are around $800) but the owner says it needs a "CDI" box.

I'm JUST Starting to get into PWCs....so I know next to nothing about them, but I am an experienced 2-stroke mechanic who has worked on outboards, and 2-stroke racing motorcycles.

My first question is: How reliable are these old Sea Doos?
My second question: How hard is it to get parts for them?
Third: Is the asking price too high?
Fourth: Are either of these good "starter" units? I don't want to bankrupt myself, but I really want to have one to ride and tinker with.

Thanks,

Joe

My first question is: How reliable are these old Sea Doos?
My second question: How hard is it to get parts for them?
Third: Is the asking price too high?
Fourth: Are either of these good "starter" units? I don't want to bankrupt myself, but I really want to have one to ride and tinker with.

Thanks,

Joe

1) Seadoo's are very reliable if taken care of, but, you are looking at +16 year old vehicles.

2) Mechanical parts are easy. And most of the body parts are easy if you look on eBay. The only thing you won't find is the factory graphics.

3) Yes, the price on both is a little high... depending on cosmetic condition.

4) Both are great starter skis. Both are fast, and fun to ride.

OK... everything above is the "Black and White" answer. Here are a few things to think about.