GTR 215 - good first Jet Ski for family?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

23109VC

I am new to the PWC world. I am in my early 40s, and my family was recently in Tahoe, we rented two Sea Doos and we are hooked. It was a total blast. We live in San Diego and are often at the beach - we have decided to get a jet ski that the whole family can enjoy. Me, wifey, and three kids (14, 10, 8).

We are looking for something we can enjoy for several years -= that will meet all our needs. Much of what we will be doing will be just crusing around the local ocean/bay area and taking trips to lakes. We have a time share up in Tahoe and go up there every summer - it would be a blast to pull a Sea Doo there and ride all over.

We have researched Yamaha and Sea Doo and like the Sea Doo models better. We are on the fence between buying brand new vs used. New is obviously better but also more costly.

I initially stated looking at the spark b/c the price was so attractive, but quickly dismissed it. We went to a local dealer and the spark just looks small and wimpy compared to the larger models. We are going to have a kid or two on the back a lot - so a larger sea doo would be more comfortable. when we went riding in Tahoe our kids just sat on the back, dangled their legs in the water, jumped off the back, swam around while we had it shut off just floating..and then climbed back on and we would take off again. it was so much fun.

our goals are to get something that can "do it all". something that can fit one or two kids on the back and just cruise, something we can tie an inner tube to the back of and tow the kids around (maybe the adults too) and also something that I can blast around solo on and have fun.