97 Challenger engine trouble

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

M_Packert

Hello Forum

We are two newbie’s who acquired a SeaDoo Challenger 97 in bad shape as a fix up project.

The workshop manual was the first thing we got after the boat – one is a auto mechanic and I am a electronic engineer, so we had confidence starting out, but after more than 10 outings we are low in spirit….

We need help getting the engines running right….

Engine 1:
Difficult to start – almost drains the batteries trying, but runs well when started, revs well too – if we turn it off in the water for more than 2minnuts it won’t start again!

Engine 2:
Starts easy, but can’t rev above 4000rpm

The oil pumps is bypassed by the previous owner so we premix fuel and oil 2% is that right?

The RAVE valves had some melting damage on the plastic tops, so we replaced the bellows and adjustment cabs. Further more we have cleaned the carbs, the fuel tank and all the filters

Any ideas to get the engines running before the end of the season her in Denmark – Please?

/Michael

Welcome to the seadoo forum Michael. I would check the wires from the battery and special attention to the ground to the engine by the starter.Be sure it is clean and has a good connection. I would do a compression test so you now what is going on internally. The compression ideally should be at 150 psi. If you are premixing your oil and fuel than the proper ratio is 40:1.

Keep us posted on you progress.

Karl

Congrats on purchase M_Packert....i'd double check the carbs again, even being cleaned, dont mean their good..(diaphram, needle and seat-n/s..etc). Being 11-12yrs old, i'd rebuild them, and if so, pay close attention to the pop-off pressure and after full assy, carb pressure...assuming ur boat is equivalant to these specs...MAIN-142.5 PILOT-70 1.5n/s 23psi - 43psi LOW(lsa)- 1 HIGH(hsa)- (MAG-0 PTO-1/2)...good luck