2017 seadoo gts exhaust manifold hot

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

seadoo-gts

I've been seemingly having a issue where if I idle the ski too long say going down the river (no wake) I'll get a exhaust hot code pop up. But if I bring the ski just up over idle it goes away almost immediately. Jet pump has fresh rebuild on it its still doing the same thing. Also you just leave the flush port open while in the water? I bought this ski second hand so idk I'm a noob to this thing I'm used to outboards lol

Yep the flush port stays open, the open cooling system works on pressure from the jet pump so the more revs the more pressure better cooling. Back flush the system per the operators manual (increased rpm) regularly to keep it open.

I am not sure what exactly could be causing your exhaust overheat, but it shouldn’t overheat at such low RPM and heat levels at idle or just off idle. I would be concerned that somehow my jet pump is not directing adequate water flow thru the exhaust, or I have a restriction in my cooling hose or exhaust that improves with additional acceleration and water flow. Definitely try to backflush or make sure your exhaust cooling system has no restrictions, or the hose off the jet pump is good, no kinks or blockage, etc. And might not be a bad idea to change the exhaust temperature sensor itself… maybe it isn’t reading correct temperature and it really isn’t overheating? But you shouldn’t be getting an overheat condition in no wake zones.