2001 Merc 240 EFI sportjet // first rebuild

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mariciv

Hello,
I am new to this forum and this will be my first 240efi rebuild. I bought the 2001 speedster with a busted cylinder (from a dishonest seller) and am now in the process of researching the rebuild. I found a place who will repair and re-sleeve #6 cyl and hone the others. Should I change all the pistons or keep the other 5 original ones? I ordered a full gasket kit, crank bearing kit, rod bolts and head bolts. Do I need to change the crank seal rings? They look ok to me but then again I am no expert. What should I use to replace the bleed hoses? I am sure I will have many more questions during this process so your help will be much appreciated. I will also need a step by step rebuild manual that I can follow during re-assembly. I am pretty handy but not much experience with these engines. I will post some pics of the faulty cylinder which is completely destroyed. The piston is missing about a third of itself.
Thank you
Ivan

The crank seal rings should be fine, and if the old pistons are in spec... then I would be OK with re-using them. But... if you want to be a "Fresh" engine... I would replace them.

If it was my engine... it would get 6 new pistons.

Thank you Dr Honda. I also need to replace one reed as the peddles got bent. There was a lot of metal fro the piston in the reed. I cannot seem to find a single set of reed peddles. Is the only option to replace all 6 with carbon fiber reeds? What else do I need to check for this rebuild?

I would check the crank very well. It should be smooth an shiny. It's normal for pits to start, and if you have them... it will eat the bearings. There are companies that can weld, and regrind the crank. Should be half the $ over a new one.