1999 Seadoo GTX Limited No Spark

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

dmontero

Hello All - I'm not getting a spark on my 1999 Seadoo GTX limited. Here is the summary:
- Battery is new and strong
- I get two perfect beeps when I put the key on
- Engine turns over and starter goes just fine
- New sparks

What I Have Done:
- Tested grounding and continuity on everything I could feel pretty confident
- I studied the wiring diagram and confirmed everything is where it needs to be unless there is a ground that is not on diagram.
- Tested resistance between the two Ignition Coils and got 0.2 (spec calls for 0.33-0.62). Could this mean bad...?
- Everyone seems to say that it probably isn't the ignition coils if the both are out because it is unlikely.
- Resistance at the two spark cables is 18.84 which is out of spec (spec calls for 8.4-15.6 on the secondaries). What would this mean? I cut them back and still 18.84
- My spark caps didn't look great. I tested continuity on them and literally got 0. This surprised me and could theoretically be the issue but I would be really surprised... in any case, I have two new ones on order.
- I am still confused at how I can test the MAG/Trigger Coil without removing the cap. If I pull the 6-pin harness out, do I literally put my leads on the pins in the harness?? It seems like that would not tell me if the trigger coil is bad or good because the trigger coil is literally not connected to it. There is no way I get my leads into that harness accepter on the cap without removing it.
- is there any way to bypass the trigger coil/magneto to see if they are bad and the MPEM is good? I know we can never test if MPEM is bad, but any way to confirm it is good?
- Obviously doing what I can before I remove that MAG cap or order the new MPEM......

Thanks all!

Thanks Racerx - I think its time for me to test a new MPEM.