1998 Seadoo GSX Limited - 15A Main Batt fuse blown instantly (wont start)

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey there, I am a newb here and a newb to the Seadoo verse in general so please take it easy on me.

I have two 98 GSX Ltd, today took them out on the lake and after approx 20 mins one of them just turns off. Normally we find its a key issue, where the key is not seated properly so she wont fire up, this time was different. It wont turn over, nothing, just completely dead. After trying 10 mins moving the key around I realized something else was wrong, so luckily we had the other ski out there to tow this one back in.

Brought her home and checked the battery connections, all is fine. (Something to note though, I was just charging up the batteries earlier in the day..). I checked the fuses in the front of the hull on the right, and sure enough the 15Amp fuse with the label "BATT" beside it is blown. I took the 15A fuse out of the good ski and put it in the blown skis spot, and right away POP! the fuse blows. So I saw some 15Amp fuses in the SPARE spot, so I moved one from the spare to the BATT spot and again insta POP, and the fuse is blown.

I am wondering if anyone else has run into this? Why is the 15A fuse (labeled battery) popping as soon as the fuse is plugged in? Even when we are not trying to start the ski. I am reading online that this could be a rectifier issue, but reading further it sounds like the rectifier is part of the MPEM, which does not sound like a good problem to have., any advice or help for a newb here would be appreciated. I am wondering if I overcharged the battery somehow and that messed things up? But then why would it start just fine and run for 20 mins and then just shut off out there in the middle of the lake? Any help is appreciated. Thank you.