1996 Speedster Winterizing Problem

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

treimche

Please help. Sorry for the long post, but it is suddenly going to get very cold here and I don't want to wreck my Speedster engines (I f***ing hate winter!)

This is my first time winterizing anything so bear with me please. I'm having an issue when adding antifreeze to the engines. Flushed both engines from the rear ports on the boat. Fogged each engine while running, and turned off fuel valves while fogging until the engines died out. Fogged all cylinders through the spark plug holes. So, following the factory service manual, I have the small hose pinched off that runs from the pipe to the front of the cylinder head (pic 1). Instead of pinching the hose to the rear flush fitting, I have them capped off (pic 2). Then I have the clear engine drain hose disconnected from its T fitting instead of pinching it between the T and transom (pic 3). The 2 hoses that are disconnected are tied up above the tuned pipe as required by the service manual.

Here's the problem. When I fill the port engine from the top flush fitting with anti freeze, it has taken an entire gallon, and none of it has drained out of the engine or even filled up the clear hose. When I filled the starboard engine, it took about a half gallon like the manual said it would, and the anti freeze came up and out of the clear hose, which I'm assuming it should have done. So can anyone help me identify where all the anti freeze is going on the port side? I pulled a spark plug and it didn't look like there was any anti freeze in the cylinder. It isn't leaking anywhere into the bilge either. I'm totally stumped.