08 speedster or challenger se

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

NOS ZED

Im new to jet boats and cant decide on which to buy, the dealer is leading me to beleive that the challenger is under powered. any advice PLEASE

Hmmmmm,...more money?

Well, maybe he stands to make more money if he sells you the Speedster! To use the term, "under powered" is not a correct analogy. They both have the same engine. Least wise, the two I looked at. There are two model Speedsters, the 15' is available with the 215 or the 155 hp engines and the 20 foot with twin 215's. The Challenger has the 18' powered with the 215 and the 23' comes with twin 215's.

The Speedsters are considered "musclecraft" and the Challenger is considered "recreation". The Speedsters are less roomy and can't carry as many as the Challenger. The Challenger has more storage space for wake boards, skis' etc....and can handle the open water well while the Speedsters are like giant jet skis. They are smaller with a lot of power. They go airborne with ease of a small two foot white cap and land with grace. Rarely do you see them come down from the air with a sideways tilt. Great wave jumpers.....

Here, go see for yourself and compare. Why listen to me, you can read for yourself............http://www.sea-doo.com/en-US/Products/SportBoat/Musclecraft/Speedster200/

sorry the speedster im refering to is the 150 215 horsy,my concern is pulling people out of the hole with four or 5 in the boat, if challenger will do this ,im in.

Challenger....

I have the 1997 model Challenger with the 787cc engine. I have no problems, using the VTS, in pulling someone behind me with 3 other people (my family) out of the water. In fact, when I get on plane, have to slow down.

So, I don't see why your choice of the Challenger would not have the ability to pull up a skier with a party of 5, using the 1497cc 4-TEC engine.