Why you put boats in the water before you buy!

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Prairie sp

So this is a FYI post.

I've been riding Sea doos since 1987. My fleet has consisted of Sp's, Gtx's, Gsx's, and my pride and joy my 96 Hx.

After many years of enjoying my Hx I couldn't take the abuse anymore that machine put me through riding. When your favorite machine makes you call in sick on Monday morning that relationship is not going well.

So I started looking around for somthing quick agile, powerful, that would give me the same type of ride as an HX but would let me stop in the lake or the river pull out a Pepsi have a smoke and actually relax.

Well the choice is obvious if you want the benifits of the Hx performance and manuevarability with the comfort to a degree of a water couch you have one choice. The Sea Doo Xp.

So begins the nightmare of my stupidity.
I find in the vastness of the interweb a 99 Xp ltd my favorite machine to have not owened.
So I make the three and a half hour drive to take a look. First things first when I see it.
1) pumps off
2) no lake or river with in 100 km
3) won't start
Well wear ring is shot, no biggie $70.00, impeller looks rough but serviceable. Knock a couple hundre off asking. Now won't start battery is showing 11.8 volts needs battery. Knock a couple hundred off that. So I get the boat an trailer for what I think is a steal. Drive home slide into my local dealer parts are waiting new battery fully charged new plugs, new wear ring she fires first try.

Put her in the water no go cavitation, or lack of fuel.Start with cavitation, new impeller wait what's that a nice two by two inch hole in the pump intake on the bottom of the hull. Cavitation it has to be. So