Sea doo with mercury 240 engine starts and idles fine but wont take throttle

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tomlibby40

trying to help a friend get his boat running right that he purchased online from florida and hauled back to maine.It ran great for the first couple rides out then started gurgling and sputtering.It will start right up and idle fine,smokes alot,but when you try to give it throttle it gurgles ,sputters and gags.when you shut it off it sits there for awhile with smoke coming out of throttle body area.I have replaced all plugs and have great fire.He had someone check compression and was 125psi and fuel pressure was 60 psi.I am a 30 yr mechanic but not much experiance with boat motors.Just trying to help him out as i think he got screwed on the purchase.It seems like to me its getting to much fuel,pulled the fuel pressure regulator and the bottom oring was gone so i replaced it with on from the hardware store and made no difference.looks like someone has been beating on it.It allmost acts like water in the gas or something.Suggestions would be greatly appreciated.I was told these merc engines really fly when you get them running right.Its been tied to his dock unusable for 3 months now.

Please let us know what kind of engine you've got? was it a Mercury M2 240 Gen 1 or Gen 2 engine, provide pictures so we can help you out. Fuel pressure supposedly 36 PSI not more than that, that might be your problem there...