Salt water Cleaning

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

WOOSAB

I got a 2010 sea doo challenger 180 i have never put the boat in salt water and next month we are taking the boat down to our summer home in west plam beach. So i will be using the boat a lot in salt water for about 2 weeks. How to i flush out the system i have heard guys talk about it but i have no experience with it myself. But i def don't want the salt composits to mess anything up. do I just hook it up to the hose and run it? Also the trailer isn't galvinized how do i make sure its cleaned good. I heard the only way to make sure of this is to dip it in fresh water. Well i believe all the water their is salt water..
Thanks

No need to worry about salt water use!! What I do is every time I take the boat out I wash it completely down with soap and water, give your engine a quick rinse off. If your going to put the boat in and out on a day basis then just start up the engine and give it a quick shot of gas to blow out the water from the exhaust....if your taking it out for a few days then hook up the hose to it and flush it out. I also completely sprayed down the pump/ reverse gate with a white lithium grease that you can buy at Home Depot...don't be afraid to use the whole can!! The lithium grease won't get washed off by the salt water unlike other penetrating oils such as WD-40.

As far as the trailer...2 weeks worth of salt water exposure will not rot out your trailer, just give it a good rinse when cleaning your boat!!

Have fun...