Rotary Valve Gear Damage

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

etemplet

Premium Member
Premium Member
I sure would like to understand what causes the damage to the rotary valve gear. I have extensive experience with root cause failure analysis and I just don't get the failure of these gears. I've done a lot of Seadoo engines the past few years and some had lots of hours on them and the gears looked fine and the bearings were in good condition. :) I don't get the spring and I don't get the destruction of the gear. Living in an oil bathed environment they should be happy for a long time.

I just removed this gear and the bearings are free, shaft turns easily. When a brass gear gets destroyed we often think of a lubrication failure. The valve isn't damaged and I can't imagine a lot of drag on the valve which could be a possibility but not likely with this engine.

RV Gear Damage (2).JPEG

RV Gear Damage (4).JPEG

Last edited:
Oh well, I went to my buddy to look at replacing the gear on the crank and he said he wouldn't do it so... I'm gonna replace the assembly and bearings and go with it. I don't understand the root cause of the gear failures but I can say with conviction the engine has to come out and the crank removed. There isn't an easy quick fix for this.

Basically the torque/pressure on the gear can cause the oil film to be lost. I wonder if hitting something with the impeller or shock loading the engine can begin the failure process. Huge amount of wear. I'll do some serious work to figure out how this happens. I'll definitely find a suitable high pressure gear lubricant to put in the reservoirs from now on. I worked in a lube oil additives plant for 28 years so I got the skinny on that kinda stuff. :D Touchdowns all !!