Quicksilver PWC Synthetic Blend Oil

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

SurfBeat

Here comes another colloquy about the use of a non Bombadier manufactured oil in a Rotax engine, (the engine used in Sea Doos) and the reasons not to use TCW3 oils.

I am a teacher and a law school grad, (and an old fart) so, I know how to conduct research.

After my research it became clear that a Rotax engine, whether a 1990 or a 2010 cannot use TCW3 oils because of the design of the Rotax engine, i.e., the rotary valve which Kawi's and Yami's don't have. Had I known that fact before I bought my Doo in 93, I would have bought a Kawi and saved a lot of time researching the difference between TCW3 and API TC oils.

If you check the threads on this subject and do your own research if you don't believe them, you will find that SeaDooSnipe, the good Dr. Horton and SeaDoYa's opinions about this subject are right on.

Now, I'm going to add some facts that SDS, DH and SDY did not mention in their threads about this subject.

First, if you own a 587 or 687 engine, (possibly any 2-stroke SD) Quicksilver PWC Oil (QSPWCO)(Silver container) is the way to go because it is a blend of synthetic and mineral oils. (30% synthetic/70% mineral)

You may ask, why is that important?

The answer is easy; two stroke engines, in contrast to four stroke engines need mineral oil to protect against corrosion when the Doo is stored or not being operated. 100% synthetic oils do not provide that protection because the oil is 100% synthetic. (Do a search on Rotax engines if you don't believe me)

On that thought, QSPWCO, in contrast to full synthetic Quicksilver PWC oil, (or any other full synthetic oil) protects the engine when not in use.

Quicksilver manufactures another oil that is rated both TCW3 and API TC, QUicksilver Premium (not Premium Plus which is only a TCW3 oil).