Please Help!! 98’ Challenger 1800, Losing Power and Dies.

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tater345

Hey everybody,

Let me start off by saying I’m no expert, have basic mechanical knowledge, and this is my first boat.

I bought this boat from this guy a couple months ago and was insured many promises and how this challenger is good to go for summer. It has a new engine on starboard side by sbt. “Coming up on a year old”. And is set to premix. Boat ran good the first 2 times out for short trips.

soon I experienced an issue were 1 motor, “starboard side” would not like to turn over and when it did I had to feather the throttle to keep it running. if I would idle in a no wake zone it would bounce around a little bit and then just die. Meanwhile the other engine runs great. And anything over 3-3.5k and the botruns great! Anything under and the right side will eventually die.

I started to look into the issue. Never liked running any type of equipment when it wasn’t running correctly unless I absolutely have too. The compression is good on both engines, new spark plugs, fuel lines are good. Use high test gas, full synthetic oil. I decided to bring it too a mechanic locally, the guy was jerking me around so brought it too another local company, he looked at it said it was a carb issue and went in cleaned the carbs, he said he checked the fuel pump, adjusted the carbs accordingly and gave me my boat back and told me it’s good to go.