New Sea-Doo Owner Questions

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Randy H

Hi All,

I'm a new member to the forum and a new boat and Sea-doo owner. Whenever I googled for info on Sea-doos it brought me to this site, so I figured this was the place to get all the info you need. I've been shopping for boats for a couple years and decided that you couldn't beet a Sea-Doo. No props, great manueverability, fast, and nice looking.

I just have a couple of generic questions.

First, I've been reading a lot of the threads and they talk about RAVE valves. Could someone explain these to me.

Second, how does the the cooling system work in a Sea-Doo Challenger? Does water pass thru the exhaust. The reason I ask this is because I think I may have gotten water pushed in the exhaust on a rought day on the lake and it may be causing my starting problems. The 2 stroke engines are cooled entirely by lake/sea water are they not? I guess I need to understand how the cooling system functions in a Rotax engine or the mechanics behind a Rotax vs a standard engine.

Third (and last for now), how does not starting your engines before flushing them out get water into the cylinders and require the plugs be removed to blow the water out? With most engines the cooling system would not allow water to enter the case unless a seal or gasket is leaking. Do the manuals explain a lot of these questions. The one that came with the boat from Sea-Doo is pretty vague. In fact for most issues it tell you to take the boat into an authorized dealer.

Where I am (Winnipeg) Sea-doo boats are few and far between, but lots of PWC (in fact mine is the only one one I've seen on our lake this year) so knowledge about the boats is not as abundent as it is the the US.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Randy

Wait....A Few more questions....

Is there an RPM level on the tach that I should get concerned with?