My first mistake…..

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

Mitters

Hi all, ok as I mentioned in my intro post, total noob here, already done some dumb ass mistakes in only 2 outings….
anyway weed infested lake, sucked up some rocks etc etc. when I took the boat out the first time, I managed to avoid weeds fairly well and the boat performed well, it would do about 41 mph and then any higher revs, it would cavitate. I could see some pretty rough edges on the front of the impeller from just looking through the intake grates, no idea of/when the PO did any ring or impeller work. Anyhow when I docked, I had my wife hold the rope but I left the boat idling in neutral while I backed the trailer down. First mistake…. It floated over a shallow bar and sucked up some nice size rocks…. i thought I pulled them all out from the rear but obviously you can see I didn’t even see these 2. The next day we launched and had to go through some weeds, sure enough picked some up but wasn’t able to get them to fall out. Long story short, mistake 2, we drove it slowly like 2700 rpm for about 20 minutes and then gave up and trailered it. Massive pile of weeds but some could have been added on the loading in run too.
Cleaned up the weeds and tried a different boat launch as I was still thinking it was a weed problem, oblivious to the rocks that were not seeming to hamper the engine or make any noise…. As soon as we got the boat to the launch just down the road, we started it up in the water and the temp buzzer sounded and it died.
trailered and went home. Tonight I tore it apart as I knew there was issues. I don’t see any problem with the wear ring or prop 😁