IBR Troubleshooting & Fault CodesP1661 & C2131

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

RJN

Hi Guys & Girls, I'm new to the Sea Doo world & already have an issue... Just purchased a 2009 GTX IS Limited 255 & the IBR light is on & I have a P1661 & C2131 fault. Best of all I haven't even took it out yet only washed it, put a new battery in when I woke it up these popped up. Any help or direction on where I can find some troubleshooting links would be appreciated. I did check all the fuses & unpluged the power wires to check power which was good going in but not going out to the motor. Not real sure how or what to check on the 12 pin connector. Thanks

2009 and 2010 iBR units are prone to failure. Do a search and you will find several that I have helped others but the majority of the time the iBR unit will need replaced.

Thanks for replying! I did unplug the 12 pin connector & cleaned both ends with electrical contact cleaner & it long enough to cycle up & down then quit again. Can you tell me what is the best place to have the gate to remove the 2 bolts from the actuator? Trying to pull it out today….

Also does anyone know of any videos on how to remove the IBR on the 2009 GTX Ltd 255?

Probably a good idea to pull the gate and nozzle anyway and inspect and replace bushings if your pulling or replacing the actuator. Download a service manual for your ski and follow precisely including torque and new bolts where required.

You have to pull the iBR gate to get to the bolts that hold the iBR actuator in place. It's only like 6 bolts all on the outside and the complete actuator unit will come out of the access panel. Very simple on that model, not so much on others.