Hi guys, I am a newbie

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

julie the great

I have the dumbest questions for you so please don't laugh. I bought my Seadoo Challenger from a woman who was selling it because she got divorced and was selling everything. I asked her these questions but she didn't know how to answer me. Ok, what is the thing in the back of the boat where the jet is, this thing is right in the middle and I can move it up and down with my hands. Behind this thing is I guess the jet itself? It is kind of rounded shaped and as I say it can be moved up and down and behind it is a hole where i suppose the water is sucked up. That is the first question, and the other question is what makes the boat steer? I know on the outboards it's obvious that the engine turns with the steering wheel but what turns on this jet boat? I really wanted a boat and I heard great thing about these type of boats so that's why I bought it even though I am clueless.
Thanks you guys for any help you can give me.
Julie

2001 Seadoo Challenger 18 ft. 210 HP mercury

hold on, let me pick myself up from laugh'n....j/k Jules....ummm, the black thing on back of boat is the pump assy/housing, water is sucked up from underneath and shot out that, which inadvertedly, moves you forward. the gate(thing you moved up/down) is a reverse gate, which when down, will allow you to go backwards, also comes in handy when docking, and then for steering, theres a cable running from the steering wheel,(steering box), that goes to the nozzle(end of pump assy), which directs the water, thus turns your new boat....did it help any?

Put Them In A Cockpit

Dont feel bad about being a newbie - take all the 'experts' around here and put them in a 757 cockpit and they'd be newbies too... short-lived ones.

A little more information about your boat.