Exhaust Cover or Extension to decrease noise

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

KenK

Hello all, I am new to this so I hope I am posting this in the correct way.
I own a 2004 Islandia and love it. One thing I would like to do is decrease the amount of noise that comes from the exhaust. I read in the manual that there are optional exhaust covers that can be purchased to quiet the noise.
I have searched for the covers but have been unable to locate them. My other idea is welding a 90 degree elbow on the exhaust and putting it 5 inches into the water. If anyone knows where I can purchase the exhaust covers that would be great. Or any other ideas on how to quiet the exhaust down would also be great.
Thanks.

Welcome.

I moved your thread to the Merc section, since the Rotax powered boats are totally different.

Anyway... I'm not sure what covers you are asking about, but maybe some of the other members know about them. But I would also be interested in them. I don't find my Islandia very loud... but anything to clip the noise it makes would be good. Most of the noise at speed is wind noise.

Do you have a picture of the cover you are thinking about? (or the part number since you found it in the manual)

As far as pushing it deeper into the water... that may work... but it will cut your HP, and it won't let the system drain, if you are leaving it in the water.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for helping me out Dr Honda and for the quick reply.
I found mention of the cover in the 200/210/240 HP Jet Drive Installation Manual.
It looks like with the cover that the exhaust would still have the ability to drain if left in the water.
Please see the following link for the manual, you can see the cover on pages 41 and 42.
http://www.mdmotors.ru/netcat_files...etDrive_Instruktsiya_po_ustanovke_motorov.pdf