can you pull a wake without a wake tower?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

crazy4h2o

Getting a 2011 speedster which does not have factory built wake tower. Dealers are telling me it costs a fortune installing one later vs going with one that has it factory built because you have to cut holes in fiberglass amd add reinforcement. Is this true?

I'm new to this and for now will pull kids on tube but when they get older for sure will want to do wake and was thinking maybe its ok to pull wake wihout tower? is it possible?

Thanks!

btw just found this forum, really helpful. thanks!

Sent from my BlackBerry PlayBook using Tapatalk

then I believe they are correct, all you have for towing is the telescopic tube behind the seats, but that will not hold a wake boarder. Never personally looked into it myself but try pricing out an aftermarket tower for your boat...never buy anything from the dealer...especially living in Canada!!! I priced out a bimini top for my 07 speedster150 at a local dealer near Lake Simcoe, they quoted me $800 plus install....I called a dealer in NC that was recommended to me and they priced me $360 shipped!! The funny thing is that they are manufactured in Montreal so the NC dealer had it direct shipped to me so didn't even have to pay any customs charges!!! Good luck!!

The factory telescoping tow hook works just fine for a wakeboard. I've heard of them bending on some of the older boats, but mine is a 2005 and no issues with a tube or wakeboard hooked to it. In fact I just taught a220lb guy to board last week, if it was gonna bend, it woulda happened then. Lots of stress on there when the boarder can't Get out of the water quickly!