Advice on first getting a 2003 GTI LE-RFI back in working order

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

cope99

Hello All,
This is my first attempt at fixing up a seadoo, I'm excited to learn. So the deal is this, with a house I purchased, I also took possession of a 2003 GTI LE-RFI bombardier. It seems that it has been sitting on a lift at the end of the dock, out in the elements, for over 12 years. I know this doesn't prove anything, but the engine looks fairly clean and when I hook up a new battery, the display is operational. I could tell it had 160 hours, 1/2 tank of gas, etc...

My question is, what is the recommended procedure, 1st steps when trying to bring a ski back to life. I know there would be many other steps to fix up, depending on the specific issues that are identified... just looking for first step suggestions. I believe I'll want to do the basics like drain gas and oil, replace spark plugs... but with the age and such, should I replace the gas lines, clean gas tank? I did a quick search of the forum and couldn't find a past post that dealt with the 101 basics steps. I really hope I can get this running, I currently own a 2013 GTX 4 tec, it would be nice to have two to ride with family. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

First drain the gas and replace the in-tank fuel filters. I would probably drain the oil and change the filter and put in fresh seadoo XP-S full synthetic 2 stroke oil. Change the balancer shaft oil. Change the jet pump oil and get a good name brand battery.

Make sure you can turn the engine over by hand first with the plugs out before you spend a dime to make sure it isn’t locked up.

A little oil in the spark plug holes can’t hurt. Don’t add any additives like seafoam.

Hello mikidymac - Outstanding, thank you. I will follow this in order. I'm sure I will be back soon. I am learning a ton from this forum.