'98 Seadoo hesitation and bogging and hull filling with water

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Hotrod36

I am new to jet skis and everything been riding motorcycles for about 7 years now. I just bought this 1998 Seadoo GTX Limited 951 and have a couple problems. Problem 1: Bike runs fine in idle and light throttle, but when trying to get it to plane out it will hesitate and sometimes bog down. Once I plane out the bike runs fast and awesome. Doesn't die. I have taking the carbs out and cleaned them. No Change. Problem 2: After riding for about an hour i notice that there is quite a bit of water in the engine compartment. Im sure that a little water is expected, but this water has gotten over the drive shaft and that's when I got the bike back on the trailer and check to see if the water would leak out without taking the plugs out. No visible leaks outside of the bike with water still in the hull. Can anyone help me?

I experienced a similar phenomenon with my 2001 model 951, some will simply tell you your fuel system is dirty. '98 vs '01, there were some carb changes along the way depending on the years so we have to get into more detail about your particular carbs assuming we try to make any comparisons.

My factory setup had #75 pilot jets, #162.5 main jets, and a 95gram metering valve spring.

It will make a huge difference if you're not running the factory air box as well, some guys like to try removing them for an extra 50RPM or something like that, as if it makes a difference. Then wonder why the engine bogs out lean.

It's not nice to run a 2 stroke lean, in my experience.

My factory setup is 80 Pilot Jets and 160 on the main jets. I'm not sure the valve spring metering. It is the stock air box as far as I know. Ill look into it and find out.

Last edited by a moderator: