96 Seadoo XP Acting WIERD!

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

thejacksonkid910

Hey, Im new to the whole forum thing. But it seems to be a lot of help.
So heres my problem. We just replaced the fuel lines from in our 96 seadoo xp, along with cleaning the carbs blah blah blah. So today we take it out, and it rides great for and hour or two, then all of a sudden my buddy was riddin and the ski made a thump and and slowed down. Afterwards he turned it off and waved me down. When i came over, i cranked it up, the engine sounded fine and sounded like the rpms were at the right level for full throttle, but would only run around 10 mph. I intially i thought something may have lodged in the impeller, but when i got it home, nothing was there, the throttle cables were fine, fuel lines fine, everything looks fine. Somebody help me!!!

i looked at the impeller and there was nothing lodged in there if thats what your asking. as for checking the wear ring. i have no idea how

look in the back of the pump at the gap between the impeller and the side of the housing. that housing has a plastic ring and that is the wear ring. the gap should be a little less than the thickness of a dime. otherwise the water goes through that gap and you loose the power of the pump

so basically the distance between the wear ring and the blades of the impeller should be less than the thickness of a dime. or have i miss understood you

Yes i just had to replace one. When its bad it will have no power. They are pretty easy to replace. Look at it from both sides through the back of the pump and though the intake grate from the bottom