96 GTX rectifier diode test

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mohannad57

Hi

I'm new to troubleshooting a Seadoo, especially the electrical parts of it, but I came to point that my battery is not charging as I tested the voltage at the battery while pushing the RPM to 4500/5000 and my battery voltage doesn't move from 12.4sh.
So I consulted a mechanic and they said rectifier/regular(RR) could be bad and or MPEM,
So I started with buying new RR, and wanted to test the diodes on it using a multimeter and compare with the old one. But with booth RRs I'm getting almost no reading or very odd reading of .001, and they both give same reading. So are they both bad, or I'm not testing the diodes correctly.
Looked at many videos to test the RR, but no luck.
here is a picture of my RR and please help me test.
The seadoo I have is a 96 GTX 787.

Please help.
and thank you in advance.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    547.9 KB · Views: 14
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    240.6 KB · Views: 12
I have honestly never tested one.
You seem to either have a good one or a bad one.
If you unplug the red wire from the regulator and the ski runs good it is bad.
If you check battery voltage at idle and it is below 12V it is bad.
If you rev up the engine to 4,500 rpm and you are not at 13V-14V it is bad.

Thanks for the response, but I just want to clarify If I unplug the red wire, should the seadoo not start at all, or it could start but it will die eventually as the battery will be drained and never charged.
mad for mine if I unplug the red it starts but don't know for how long as I never tested for long time. But if the RR ground is not connected the seadoo never starts that I noticed.

It should start and run fine, the battery just won't be charging. Your electrical system will just be running off battery power.

Thank you,