787 Ol pump

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

remeeker

Hi guys. Newbie here. Auto machinist/mechanic. These forums are great. Thanks for all the info. I just purchased my first boat. 96 challenger, single 787. I will be rebuilding the engine. I was told that it was fouling plugs, the head is off and the bores look good so from what I have read good chance the crank oil seals are bad. Either way i want to go through the entire boats to reduce the potential issues when its time to enjoy it. I read through the posts on using the oil pump and get the point and want to continue using the oil pump because of the variable feed to the engine based on load/RPM. Sorry... to the question. I understand the pumps seem to wear out after so many hrs? Approx how many? I haven't touched the boat yet so i don't realize what this pump is. Porsche 912 engine rebuild needs to get out of the garage first. Does anyone have and rebuild suggations for the pumps? Pictures? Buy new? Thanks in advance.

Volume test....

There are a couple tests to see that the pump is working correctly.

First and easiest....Start engine and run at idle while holding the oil injection pump lever wide open (manually). The engine will begin to run rich and idling irregularly smoking pretty badly. If this happens, it's probably o.k.

There is also a volume (bench) test that is a bit more drawn out. You have to have a way of running it at 1500 rpm for 30 seconds (in the water) or 15 seconds at 3000 rpm (on the trailer) and a graduated cylinder (something calibrated in cc's for up to 1 mil minimum. You should do each port seperately.