2001 seadoo challenger 1800 m210 no spark

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

4cefed370

Hi, so I replaced motor ran it for a yr everything good and then all a sudden no start.. checked kill switch ok and then I didnt have time so I brought to a guy my friend knew. He took a while to get to it but he told me I needed a stator and one cdi module. I let it sit for a while and then I decided Im gonna troubleshoot myself vause the modules are very expensive. So then I ohm tested the stator leads frim outer and inner switch box and on the outter box I had 5M ohms and on the inner 5k ohms
The manual says anything over 4.5k ohms and the stator needs to be replaced

So Im not very experienced with 2strokes nor boats so I know rhe stator charges the battery but my issue cause it jot to run?

Also where do you recomend picking uo a new stator from and are the aftermarkets reliable?

Thanks very much

A stator is the STATionary part of a ROtating system. Whether pump or generator.

In this case, the stator in combination with the magnets in the flywheel, creates the electricity to charge the battery.

Once the flywheel has been removed, it is a simple process to replace the stator . One wire at a time. Make sure that none of the wires can touch the flywheel. You will need a Merc flywheel puller from ebay. Before you replace the stator, the voltage regulators should be checked. (Cheaper!)

Sources:
ebay.
Crowley Marine.
BAMMarine.
Any Mercury dealer.

You will need the engine serial number.
Stator price runs from $200-$350. Coil price from $10-$80. CDI brand seems to be OK.

Ok where are the voltage regulators and how to test if its easy to explain..
As far as the stator goes I performed the ohm test on inner amd outer box leads and the outter box was way high and manual says to replace , so I assume I should replace in this case?