Turned motor off before the water hose like an IDIOT

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Medic7857

Hey guys, I am very new to the pwc world, well really the boating world in general. So I was told very specific instructions on how to flush my GTI SE 130....well I got to talking while I was doing so, and spaced out. Needless to say I turned the motor off before the water hose. I realized it as soon as it happened and ran over and turned off the hose. I fired the motor back up right away (which in hind-sight could have been a stupid move) and flushed all the water out. I called a few dealerships (because one word of good news wasn't enough peace of mind apparently) and they all said that if the motor fired up and ran right away with no hiccups, then it should be fine. They also said that, while there is no set time, the short time I left the hose on shouldn't have been enough to fill the motor up. They ALSO said that if there was water in the motor, that it would have hydro locked as soon as I turned it over. So, because I was obsessing over it...I turned the ski back on, with no water this time and let it idle a little while and let it run more water out. Well while doing this the ski beeped and the oil light came on. I assumed that this meant my time was up for running it dry. I turned it off. I guess my big question is, will that check engine light turn off once everything has cooled down completely? Is the check engine light normal for running out of water? Or did I turn no problem into a problem?

Last edited by a moderator:
You need to read your bloody owner's manual!

You are NOT supposed to let it run dry either, the exhaust system heats up quickly without water and things start to melt! 15 seconds without cooling water flow is about the limit, after that you're playing Russian Roulette with the machine.