Seadoo XP ‘95 720 cc will not start up!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Krizzy

Hi all - I’m new to the PWC scene. I just bought a 95 XP last week. It started up fine the first time I took it out and ran well, was a little jumpy with the speed but the guy who sold it to me said a new wear ring and pump seal would fix that....

next, it’s the 3rd of July and I took it out to make sure it was gonna run for the 4th, but it wouldn’t start up. Realized the battery had died as water corroded it, so I switched the batteries and it ran fine..

I took it out again on 4th of July, started off fine during the day with new battery, rode it for a few hours, then it randomly died in middle of lake, tried to start it up but nothing for 10 minutes, ended up getting towed back to land, tried the jetski about 20 minutes later and it started up and ran fine again.... then, after that ride we tried for one last one and it wouldn’t get going...

So, yesterday, (3 days after the 4th) I tried starting it up (this time on land) and after a minute I finally got it and it stayed running for a while (20-30 seconds) before I shut it off. Figured it was fine so I decided to take it out today and when I hit the water it wouldn’t start again. The engine has always cranked and sounded like it wanted to startup until today, when it is just making a vibrating/buzzing noise near the front of it. It’s being very inconsistent and I’m not sure what could be wrong. Any ideas?

I took a video of the sound it is making when I’m trying to start up today: https://streamable.c0m/8h0rv5

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    2.7 MB · Views: 13
Just remove the spark plugs...And try and spin the motor by the pto where the drive shaft meets motor should spin easily...with plugs out.

You may have to remove the guard for drive line its two nylon wing nuts fixed to the mounting plate.