Rotax 4Tec 1503 Rebuild

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

backyardbuilt

Alright forum here's what i got. So recently my 2013 RXPX 260 dropped a valve, i replaced 3 pistons and rings and started assembly on the rest of the motor. Everything was going smooth until it was time to put the cases back together. I got everything torqued to spec, according to the manual, but the crank will not spin at all by hand. I split the cases and the crank started rolling pretty easy again. I used tons of assembly lube and like i said, torqued to spec. No visible damage to anything on the bottom end. Silly question is, could it be because im trying to rotate the crank with the motor being upside down? Im at a loss for now, and i don't really know what to do next. I am not a Professional engine builder, but i do have experience in building motors. Like i said, not sure what to do, hopefully you guys can help me out. Thanks in advance.

I am currently doing this on my 2005. Unfortunately I had to replace the head.

I would check to make sure the key on the main bearings are properly engaged with the key slot in the engine block and engine case bottom. Check the same for the counter balance bearings.

Make sure the bearings do not extend up beyond the engine block or case bottom. If they do, there may be debris trapped under the bearings.

Any chance you bought oversize bearings which are to be used with a crank which is ground under size?

If you do not find a problem. pull the counter balance shaft bearings out of the case bottom and assemble it again. If it now spins freely, look for a problem with the counter shaft bearings. Still no luck, pull the thrust bearings out and try to spin it. Maybe one is in wrong.

Rotating upside down should not be a problem. If rotating right side up you need to be careful the timing chain does not jam up.

I am currently doing this on my 2005. Unfortunately I had to replace the head.