Removing bondo and doing it right

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Scottwid

I bought a couple older seadoos last fall that need some love. One of them is a 96 gti that has been sanded and patched in areas (skim coated with bondo). I think they were attempts to repair spider cracks. The ski has not been in the water since these attempted repairs.

I have researched how to fix this the right way and haven’t found an explanation for this exact situation. As I understand it the bondo has to go. It has been sanded to the fiberglass in several areas. What would be the proper way to fix this? I am new to jet skis but am a very diy guy. Your guidance is appreciated!

I bought a couple older seadoos last fall that need some love. One of them is a 96 gti that has been sanded and patched in areas (skim coated with bondo). I think they were attempts to repair spider cracks. The ski has not been in the water since these attempted repairs.

I have researched how to fix this the right way and haven’t found an explanation for this exact situation. As I understand it the bondo has to go. It has been sanded to the fiberglass in several areas. What would be the proper way to fix this? I am new to jet skis but am a very diy guy. Your guidance is appreciated!

Sand it down, die grind the cracks out to create like a little channel, then fill with Marine Tex. After it's dry, sand it smooth, and for a finished look gelcoat over it.

Unless it's structural damage, Marine Tex and some gelcoat will work fine, you can buy both in small amounts if you're just trying to fix up a bad spot.

Last edited:
Sand it down, die grind the cracks out to create like a little channel, then fill with Marine Tex. After it's dry, sand it smooth, and for a finished look gelcoat over it.