Pre-Mix Setup?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

SigEp368

Admittedly, I am new to the Seadoo world, but I am confused about Factory set-ups vs Pre-mix mods. I have a pair of 94 & 95 GTXs that I just got running this year. They both have oil tanks, and all the lines running to the engine. From what I can tell, the previous owner ran straight gas, and I know it was oiling from looking at the exhaust when I purchased them.....how well it was oiling I do not know.

After reading some posts and horror stories, I have become a bit paranoid about the reliability of the 20+ year old oil pumps. Since then I have been running pre-mix, just in case.

Is this okay, or should I either convert it or just run straight gas?

I have a 95 gtx and recently had the same problem and converted to premix because my oil pump stopped working right and fried a cylinder and piston. Converting to premix is not had to do at all. You can run straight gas but you have to make sure the oil pump runs correctly.

The way you are doing it right now won't really hurt. But it might to be easier to convert to one way and be done with it.

I have read the manual for checking oil pump operation, and have ensured the clear lines are full and the adjustment is right. Is there anything else I can do to check and see if it is oiling correctly. I know on outboard I have worked on they have you measure the flow over a defined time to see if it is getting proper oil flow, is there a spec for that, or is there an easy way to see if it is oiling (e.g. Hold oil lever open while idling and check for increased smoke or drop in rpms)?

Id hate to disable them if they are working, cause it sure world be alot easier to run without premixing.

If I do disable, what does that involve?

Not sure how to check the oil flow, except checking ur cylinders and seeing how dry and covered in oil they are.