'nuther newbie - 2001 Utopia 185

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

jshaley

I've poked around and learned a lot at this forum, thanks. I am new to Jet Boating - actually transitioning over from sail boats (kids not really digging the 3mph tubing experience).

The 2001 was apparently owned by a little old man who took it out on only on calm Sundays (yeah, right). The dealer is boasting that it looks like it still has the original plus. He thinks that means low hours, I worry it means no service.

A few questions:
- It is the 210HP carb'd Mercury. So I am pleased that it is a Mercruiser, should find plenty of mechanics familiar with it (learned from this forum that Seadoo places may not be the best). Any comments on this engine? I know I can expect more smoke and poorer mileage but what about reliability.

- With other boats, I have heard it said that the Fuel Injected versions of the engine are more reliable, but harder to fix once they go. Where you can actually tune a carb on the water if need be. Is this valid?

- I know that the intake is a hungry beast and will eat anything you put in front of it, is this true at idle? Is the suction proportional? Like if I go slo in shallow areas or ramp do I still have to worry as much. I have heard stories of "softball sized rocks" being sucked off the floor in 4'. Does the 1st attempt at cleaning a fouled intake mean you are under the boat or can you just hop in and reach it from the stern?

- From this forum I know I want a compression test and will do a close inspection of the impeller and intake area looking for damage. Any other tips?

- What are your best Preventive Maintenance tips. I am thinking if I pick this up I will change oil (there is a suggestion on teh forum about type of oil), plugs, etc. Generally spend a bit of money now to avoid a larger bill later.