Newb - which 90’s Seadoo?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jris88

Hey Everyone! New to PWC's here -
I'm leaning towards getting a 90's era Seadoo.

I'm currently deciding between looking for an X4 based hull XP or SPX, a 97+ XP, or a GSX - looking for advice. A few things to consider:

I’m young-ish and want some excitement but I am new to jetskiing. I'll be taking this out mainly on Lake Hopatcong in NJ - it tends to get very choppy given the amount of boat traffic out in the peak of the summer. I want to have fun but I do not want to be tipping over and airborne all of the time. Also would be nice to take a second rider out on occasion but not a deal breaker.

Did some research and this is where I’m at (and correct me if I'm wrong ):

X4 hull XP or SPX
PROS - Will be the most fun/fast - best looking.
CONS - Will be a rough ride in choppy water (which I will be riding in a good majority of the time)
Can't really ride with 2.
QUESTION - Will the ride be bearable or will it be unenjoyable - especially for a novice rider?

97+ XP
PROS - New more stable hull design.
CONS - Still not as stable as the GSX.
QUESTION - Are they significantly more stable than the older XPs?
Will I be able to ride with a second person ocassionally?

GSX
PROS - Most stable.
Can ride with two.
CONS - Less fast/agile.
Not a fan of the red/purple / beefier looking hull.
QUESTION - Are these significantly more stable than the 97+ XPs?

Would really appreciate any advice you might have given all of this.

What ski should I get?

Thanks!

-John

If you want handling you're always gonna give up stability. Think Extreme on one end and boring on the other. LOL

I have had all 3.
Worst in rough water by far, punishing world be a good world and worst with a passenger is the 1996 XP, SPX. Most fun on smooth water by yourself.