Need some suggestions on a 2008 RXT X255 that won't start

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

bcage

First, thanks for even reading this thread. It is going to be along one, but I don't know how to ask a question for help without giving up all that I know at this point. I am hopefull that people smarter than me will read through this and point me in the right direction (or even a couple of wrong directions, I am at a standstill). I am a shade tree mechanic so my greatest attribute is probably persistence and the ability to apply a little bit of logic. Beyond that, I know enough to get myself into trouble and I have a clear willingness to do so! With that background, I want to run my current situation by you to see if anyone can point me in a productive direction.

The Seadoo in question is a 2008 RXT x255. It has around 160 hours on it. Toward the end of last season, it stopped starting. When I put the key on the post, the gauges would light up and go through the process that appears to be a self check sequence (each indicator goes on and off etc) and then nothing. No beeps. After about 3 seconds, the gauges would go dim (appeared to be off) and the start button wouldn't do anything. Since it was the end of the season, I trailered the boat and planned to look at it over the winter.

As happens, I got busy and didn't look at it again until spring. At that time, I popped the key on the post and all appeared fine. The starter activated, the boat started and I put it in the water, feeling like I must have dodged a bullet. I didn't. I rode the boat from the ramp to my house and put it on the dock. The next time I went out to take it out, nothing. The symptoms were back. I decided to take it to the Seadoo dealer on my lake and have them take a look.