Need help picking the right boat

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Doorush

Hey - I am a relative newbie to boating in general. I am in my second summer with an old 16' fiberglass boat and 80 hp outboard Johnson motor. I boat mostly in a river in PA that is relatively shallow most of the summer, so I am interested in changing to a jet boat that will draw less water than my boat to avoid banging bottom. I have read some online articles, but I am not sure I understand the differences yet.

Some questions I have:
1 - Can someone give me a brief summary of the differences between Sportster, Speedster and Challenger?
2 - I really want a boat where I don't have to mix oil & fuel. How can I tell from an ad if the boat is 2-stroke or 4-stoke?
3 - Are there advantages to the 4-stroke besides the oil mix issue?
4 - I think I saw some ads that said it was 2-stroke but that the oil is mixed automatically. Do you simply add oil when you re-fuel?

If I am looking to take 4 people out for an afternoon of cruising, parking to swim and occassionally tubing, is one boat style better than another? I am not looking to tear up & down the river at 50+ mph. Just something to enjoy the time in the sun. I have seen boats close to me - '99 Sportster for $5500 and '02 X-20 Challenger for $8500. Thoughts?

Sorry for the lengthy post and number of questions. Any assistance is greatly appreciated as I consider this leap.

Welcome to the forum. Good luck searching for your new boat. Being towards the end of the season it should be a buyers market. Jet boats are nice because they don't require as deep of water, but you still have to be carful about debris.

To answer your questions:

1) Not sure. Some of the differences must depend on the year.
2) The 4-strokes started to be phased in around 2003 and fully in commission around 2005. Before then would be strictly 2-strokes and after 4-strokes.