Hull Repair!…help

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

fur_252

So I picked up this ski….what i feel was a great price but the hull need work. Kid must of ramped it off of a cliff and back into the water..hahah. He tried to repair it with something and smeared it everywhere and didn’t even try to sand it down. Im in the process of sanding it down right now. So most of the damage seems to be gelcoat but when it gets closer to the kneel of the ski looks like it needs more attention! I’m a noob when it comes to repairs like this but willing to learn! I’m in the process of getting color matched gelcoat for the ski. Any suggestions would be great on fixing this! Thanks

Attachments

• 23A1F44C-878D-4C6C-9638-0F8FDEF4A41A.jpeg
    23A1F44C-878D-4C6C-9638-0F8FDEF4A41A.jpeg
    149.8 KB · Views: 29
  • 668A72D6-7107-4C05-B5C5-948347F2EF90.jpeg
    668A72D6-7107-4C05-B5C5-948347F2EF90.jpeg
    234.9 KB · Views: 31
It seems that it peeled a couple of layers of fiberglass didn’t penetrate through the hull! Low spot seems sturdy when pushing on it! Would (marine-tex, 3m marine high strength filler, or Bondo glass) work on this? If so which one is the best out of the 3 and added strength? Or would I have to relayer glass? I’m planning on gel coating it to original color if gelcote International still carries it!

That area is structural and I'm guessing if you push on it you will get some flex so you will need to use fiberglass mat with epoxy if you want a permanent repair that won't crack and leak after use. I suggest watching the West Systems epoxy repair videos.