GSX mpem issue

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

Nilo

I have a 1998 gsx ltd. I have a starter issue, however I now believe it to be the linked to the mpem unit. I am a motor mechanic so have a good idea of what I'm doing here.
Mpem will only supply 10 volts to the starter solenoid. I have measured this voltage 2 inches from mpem unit on the solenoid feed wire and at the solenoid itself, 10 volts. In the process of getting this far I have fitted new starter, starter solenoid, all new battery cables, earths etc New start/stop switch. Currently have a new ride on mower battery of 300cca rating installed. I have double checked all earths and soldered all connections where possible. I have run an earth from the battery negative to the earth post in the starter relay box. Alternator charging @ 13.5 volts.
The 951 carbed motor runs extremely well when running but it's the starting. The starter works for 3 seconds, then stops, press start button, works a few seconds then stops, works, stops etc etc. Off on anything from 2 to 6 seconds. If I short circuit the starter solenoid across the posts and push the start button, the ski starts immediately. I am only measuring 10 volts at the starter solenoid activation wire. I feel this is why the starter works and stops. Press the start button and starter works and stops etc. I just keep going through the same cycle until the motor starts.
Any suggestions?
I think it's the mpem, not supplying 12 volts to the solenoid causing the solenoid to drop out? I'm thinking of replacing the mpem with a Arieltek unit? Has anyone
purchased or used the Arieltek mpem? Seems like it works with any dess key? Price is right, but quality. I have never worried about non original parts. Any reviews.
Thank you.
Neil.

Last edited: