Engine problem?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

Donnieboy59

I have a 2012 Sea doo Challenger 180 boat and I'm lost what to do. We were water skiing about 2 months ago and while I was in the water trying to get ski's on my brother was circling me and waiting till I was ready. The rope was pulled into the propeller and shaft so bad it stopped the engine dead. Apon inspection I found it damaged the prop and shaft. I replaced everything from the shaft to the pump and propeller. Now the engine will not rev up or go over four grand on the tach. It acts like it has a governor on it. any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I've been a mechanic for 40 years but this has me stumped. I've never worked on a marine engine like this.

Yeah these things can throw you for a loop.

Couple of questions:
What exact engine do you have?
Can you turn the prop shaft by hand? Could be binding and causing reduced RPM.
If an SCIC check the SC for free wheel. Could have been damaged with the sudden stop (long shot) but worth to check.

Good luck, post back with any info.

It's the 4-tech super charged engine. The drive shaft comes right off the engine's crank and I cannot turn it by hand. I take it when you say SC your talking about the super charger but what is SCIC?

SCIC is Super Charged Inter Cooled.

To check if the SC is free wheeling, remove the intake hose and use your hand and see if the blade spins at all. If good you won't be able to spin by hand, but as mentioned, that is a long shot and probably not the issue. But worth checking.

It may be possible that you put a larger impeller on then what it calls for and it is binding. Verify what you put on, I think you may have a 159mm pump but not sure. They vary only by a few mm's and you could feasibly get a larger impeller into a smaller pump housing and it may be binding. Hard to diagnose from a forum. This is really a feel sort of thing.

Last edited: