Confused

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

msmoak5

Hoping someone can give me some insight on a current issue I’m having. I am new to the SEADOO family! I’ve enjoyed the tear down and rebuild too!

I apologize for the lengthy post!

I recently obtained a 1996 Seadoo SPX from a friend of mine. Initially, my friend said it only needed a battery! Lol I knew that wasn’t the case.

heres what I’ve done thus far....
1. New fuel tank (original was broken at the fuel fill hose.) New fuel filter
2. Replaced all fuel lines and all oil lines, including the oil pump.
3. Rebuilt the carbs
4. Rebuilt the Jet pump and installed new wear ring
5. New Battery
6. New Gauges
7. Used OEM MPEM (original was melted around the fuses)
8. Rebuilt the top end (new pistons and rings) Compression on both cylinders is sitting at 115 psi
9. Rebuilt the OEM starter motor with new OEM parts
10. New NGK spark plugs, gapped at approx. .28 -.30

Went to fire the ski up the other day and it fired right up! Sounded good and figured I’d tweak the low idle on the carb a little. Ran the ski with the water hose in the driveway for about 30 minutes. Turned the machine off, and started it again and ran it for another 30 minutes. That’s when I noticed the #3 bold for the top cover was leaking water....went to tighten the bolt and it broke.