Another VTS motor fix (3D printed)

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

JUSS10

I'm relatively new here. My name is Justin and I got in to Seadoos when I was given my in laws 95 XP a few years back to try and keep running for family vacations on the river. Since then I've acquired a few more and have slowly been learning the ways of the rotax engine and seadoos as a whole (been into motorcycles, jeeps, snowmobiles, etc). Oh, I'm also an designer/engineer who works with electronics as a day job.

SO... One thing every ski I got in common had was broken VTS. After doing some research I was able to find there are quite a few issues that cause failures but for sure all of them had dead motors. Being the DIY type and in general being one to find the most affordable solution I figured I could find a way to fix this myself. I knew the VTS motor was nothing more than a power window motor so I started looking on ebay for the most affordable power window motor that was similar in appearance. I actually found two that were very cheap shipped to my door at a fraction of the cost of a used or re-manufactured VTS motor.

While waiting for the motors to arrived I disassembled the VTS unit by pulling the motor and the screw that the motor turns. I started to model up the screw in 3D cad so I could 3D print a custom screw that would mate to whatever end was on the window motors I had coming. (I knew the motors coming had a 7 tooth gear and a square shaft so they wouldn't work with the 8 tooth gear that the original screw had)

I ended up going with the square shaft motor as it had 3 of the 4 mounting points the same as the original motor. I had to knock the threaded inserts out so it would fit over the studs in the VTS housing. A few washers to shim it up and it fit well. I figured out how much I had to adjust the screw in cad and printed it out.