About to embark on my first fishing trip on my 2024 Fish Pro Trophy

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

Freakaccident

I am getting ready to head out into the Atlantic out of Little River Inlet on the border of North and South Carolina for a day of offshore fishing in my new 2024 Fish Pro Trophy. Seas are supposed to be 3.5' at 8.5 seconds. I am hoping to get to a spot about 15 miles out to bottom fish for Black SeaBass. Fish and chips are hopefully on the menu tonight!

I am new to this and this will be my first time. If I get out past the jetty and it is too much for me to attempt to go 15 miles there is a reef within 3 miles I can head to. If all else fails I will do some inshore fishing.

I am equipped with a Garmin InReach, an EPIRB, a VHF radio, and a ditch bag just in case. I will be sending out my Garmin InReach follow-me mapping to my loved ones once I depart.

Wish me luck! I will report back tonight with pics and hopefully videos.

So I went out today about 17 miles and bottom-fished a couple of reefs. I didn't get a single bite. Other boats were out there complaining on the radio that they weren't catching anything. A guide captain spoke up on the radio and said that the cold front and storms from the previous day had mucked everything up

I left the boat ramp at sunrise. I had never launched a PWC before and didn't realize I would be getting wet feet to launch it. I was not prepared for that. I ended up wearing scuba boots all day with cold wet feet. 55 degrees F or 12.7 C is what the water temp was. The outside temp was 57 F or 13.9 C when I left and 67 F or 19.4 C when I got back. I also made a mistake and left my gloves and thermal ski mask in the foot well. Those were now wet. I wore wet gloves and didn't wear my thermal ski mask.

I learned a couple of things.

1. I must use fenders when docking. PWCs are much lower than a boat.
2. Reversing is not the same as a boat. It is backward.