96 challenger SBT engine died! What happened?!???

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

manolocross

Long time poster here but I haven’t posted in a bit. First off I want to say thank you to this forum. It has always been a great source of info for me. Hey @racerxxx !!!!
Quick backstory.
96 challenger single 787
Rebuilt carbs changed 2 stroke oil and filter and lines to XPS 2
Changed carbon ring
Changed wear ring
Ran great!
Winter came,owner did NOT WINTERINZE. CRACKED cylinders and head.
SBT engine ordered and installed by me. I have lots of old seadoo experience. Enough to do this for a living but do it as a hobby. Engine ran great for approximately 50 hours. PTO cylinder piston crown and rings blew to bits. SBT NO FAULT 2year warranty.
It was a LEAN RUN. In my investigation(lol) I found CHEAP Tcw-3 oil was used and mixed with XPs 2 oil. It was a “only thing they had at boat store” situation. I warned him about this. The boat store even recommended it! They obviously don’t know s**t about 2 stroke seadoos. But that wasn’t what killed it! It helped it die but was not the smoking gun.
Turns out THE GAS TANK WAS SHRINKING! I took one look in there and immediately saw that the gas tank had a huge VACUUM imposed on it and was semi collapsing!!!!
So the lean run happened and exploded the cylinder. So engine is on its way back to SBT AS I TYPE. So I need to remedy this problem. The only thing is I can’t find any info online on this boats (manual) and part numbers for gas tank purge and check valves. Also the boat is not at my garage so I just took a quick look in Hull and could not locate the purge valve in boat.( I just took a quick look)...
So my question is
Where is the purge and check valve located?
What are the part numbers?
Where can I download manual?
Pics you can show me?
Sorry for long post.... thanks boys!!