787 Engine running rich

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

TheChad

Hey all,

I just purchased a used '96 SeaDoo GSX with the 787 engine, When I lake tested it, they had to put new plugs in because the old plugs were fouled, I lake tested it for about an hour.

I just pulled the plugs to check them, and while they are working just fine, they are wet fouled, they are dark black and look wet.

When the dealer installed the new plugs they didn't gap them, so whatever the factory gap was is what it was at. I just re-gaped them to the correct gap of .020", Per the operators manual.

I don't know if that will make a difference? What else do I need to do to get the engine running at the correct mixture so I wont keep fouling plugs?

I am new to Jet Ski's so forgive me if I ask a dumb question.

Do these carb's have adjustable needles or do you have to change jet's to adjust mixture? Since the Oil is automatically injected, I assume that the oil mixture doesn't need any adjusting?

I don't know if it makes a difference, the RAVE valve's on top of the engine look as though they are brand new, the one on the exhaust looks old(er).

Thanks in advance for the help.

-TheChad

2-stroke engines will generally make the plugs look black from the oil it's burning. Unless it's fouling pugs every ride... don't try to lean it out.

With that said... there are a few things to check.

First... how's the compression? when the engine was first built, it had 150 psi compression, and it was able to burn all the fuel. As the engine wears, and the compression drops, it will burn the fuel less efficiently. If you have 135 to 145 psi... they will look dark.

Second. Just because the black parts look new... are the valves clean? (inside) You may want to pull them out and check them. If they aren't opening... you will burn a little rich since the exhaust timing will stay low.