2012 Seadoo Challenger 180

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

wav

Just acquired this boat and I am a full on novice so bear with me please. Had the boat inspected by a mechanic and some electrical, battery clean up and fuse box work was done. When I did my sea trial with the previous owner everything seem to work okay. He did tell me about some fuse issues which is why I got the mechanic to look at it before we took the boat out.

On a couple of occasions the boat would crank and run okay but after a stop and restart the boat engine wouldn't turn over. Each time the engine eventually did turn over but this is obviously a concern. When I got the boat back home I tried to flush it out but I could not get the boat to turnover at all to complete the flush out.

Also, I don't know if its normal or not for these jet engines but the rattling sound they make starting up and while running seems odd no?

Furthermore, I attached a picture of the dash and I am wondering what this circled symbol is? This and the check engine light are also something I am clueless about. Maybe I should be more worried about the check engine light but I wasn't sure if its just like a car's computer that needs to be reset.

Thanks for the help.

Attachments

• 20230520_192349.jpg
    20230520_192349.jpg
    157.5 KB · Views: 23
Last edited:
Welcome to the forum.

Some things to consider.

1.. If you don't get 2 beeps when the key is put on the DESS post, the machine will not start. Sometimes the keys are difficult and need to be wiggled as they are not on the post straight.
2.. If you are saying you get 2 beeps, but the start button does nothing, I would first start with your battery. Are the terminals tight? Is there any corrosion?
3.. If you have the ability to pull the battery out and take it somewhere to test it.

Another issue could be the starter solenoid.

I don't know how mechanical you are so feel free to chime in...