2004 seadoo sportster Le

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Joeknows

Hello,

I am a newbie to this form and would greatly appreciate some advice, information, tips, etc.
My neighbour of 30 years is selling a 2004 sportster Le. He is a good honest person and let me know that the compression is down 10% in the motor. He has had the boat for 5 years and maintans his equipment with pride. The only engine maintenance that has been required was a manifold gasket as it was leaking.
Is this drop in compression a sign that the motor is already going or gone. I know there's always some loss as the machine is 8 years old? I know down the road I will have to do the top end but are these good reliable machines or is it a lemon year and going to be In the shop all he time. It has been reliable for my neighbour.

Any input about this machine year and what to look for would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Paul

Before we put a percentage on the compression... why dont you just post up a a number for us.

If there is an actual drop in compression... it can be from a bunch of things. But... realistically... a Rotax 951 engine is only good for about 200 Hrs.

So... the next question would be... how much time is on it?

I am new here so I was not given a number just a percentage so I will go and find out the facts exact numbers for hours and compression and post it ASAP. I don't remember an hour meter? Is there one?
Thank you.

Hi,
The only additional information that I received is that the compression is 105 in each cylinder and the was the FI kit installed. I just want to know if these machines are reliable or lemons and what will it cost to do a proper rebuild if and when needed. I really know nothing about seadoo boats other than they are fantastic machines--if they don't have problems.