1998 Sportster 150 (single engine) Cavitation Issue

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

yetisoldier

I'm pretty new to jet boats and recently purchased a 1998 Sportster (single engine). The boat is in great overall shape, but I can't get it to go properly! With just me in the boat I can slowly get it up to about 33 mph, but under hard acceleration or with more weight it just cavitates violently (10mph max)! I've had the wear ring replaced, and even tore the pump apart again and put it back together with liberal amounts of sealant to see if that helped. No dice. After looking around I think I may need to remove and re-seal the pump shoe/ride plate. I can't find any good pictures for this model anywhere. I understand there are 6 bolts and sealant that hold it on. My question is do I need to remove the pump before attempting this, or can I do it with everything in place? I want to minimize the amount of time spent on this and ensure I have the proper parts on hand. Any advice, pics, or instructions are appreciated!

Haven't done it myself but lookin at the manual it seams to be a pretty amount of work with the rideshoe. Someone else can comment,but I don't think the rideshoe usualy cause any problem. Have you checked the carbon seal and pre-load of it?

I am going off of this comment found elsewhere. I don't think the carbon seal has been replaced or checked. I'll have to look into that.